Bridgestone TW302 on the front
Close

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Mark In WA

Thread: Bridgestone TW302 on the front

Let me qualify this by saying I am no expert on motorcycles. I love to ride, but I wouldn't even call myself an enthusiast. So take this review for what it is, just my thoughts.

8500 miles on a 6 year old TW31 was starting to scare me. I had the little cracks around the knobs and I started imagining what having a blowout on the front would be like.

I wanted to try the TW302 because the irregular tread pattern looked like it would be quieter and the large knobs looked less flexible which I thought would be good on the street. I think kind of matches the rear TW34 which I will be staying with.

I got the tire in 4.60-18 and used a standard Bridgestone (non Heavy Duty) tube. I've ridden on it a couple weeks. On the way into work yesterday morning I concluded that I absolutely love this tire. I want to be a little careful because I have nothing to compare it to other than the stock tire. I don't think you could put anything on the front of a TW that would be worse than the stock tire.

I had some reservations at first. During quick turns on the street at certain lean angle I felt some feedback through the bars like the tire was trying to straighten back out instead of following the turn. This did not happen on curvy roads, just when turning at intersections. I attributed it to using a rear tire on the front. At the time I was thinking I may have made a big mistake. After a while, I don't know if it went away or I just got used to it but I don't notice it anymore.

The whirring sound from the stock tire is gone. In fact I don't hear any sound from this tire at all. It is smooth and quiet which is a big part of why I like it. There is a huge difference in how the bike responds to grooves in the road. I was afraid of them before and now I am purposely riding on them.