Summary of Modifications: Carburetor and Drive Train
Close

I just bought a 2011 TW200 for my very first beginner motorcycle and am loving its forgiving nature. After reading about everyone's modifications, I'm going to get some done on my bike too, but since I'm a noob and have no idea how to purchase and install some of these parts, I'll have the dealer do it (this time). Can you guys confirm whether my list is right?

1. Change out 14 tooth front sprocket to 15 tooth sprocket.

If I do this, it sounds like what is currently second gear will become my first gear. It is a little bit difficult for me to start the bike in second gear though, and I was wondering if changing out the sprocket will make starting out in first gear just as difficult. It would be great to change it out though, because first gear is frustratingly short to me. Also, does sprocket brand matter or are they all pretty homogenous?

2. Change out 50 tooth rear sprocket to 47 (or 45) tooth sprocket. Is this in addition to the front sprocket change or do I pick one or the other?

3. Change out stock chains to DID 428 O-Ring Chain and get the 130 link package.

4. Re-jet the carburetor from default 128 to 130 (or 132.5)

5. Shim the needle .03 inches (what does this do hypothetically?)

6. Turn the air screw 2.5 turns (what does this do hypothetically?)

7. Do something to adjust pilot mixture screw?

Karen

Quote Originally Posted by peraevum View Post
    2. Change out 50 tooth rear sprocket to 47 (or 45) tooth sprocket. Is this in addition to the front sprocket change or do I pick one or the other?
    Changing the rear sprocket is easier, and cheaper, if you are paying for labor.

3. Change out stock chains to DID 428 O-Ring Chain and get the 130 link package.
    Personally, I would get a few thousand miles use out of the stock chain before I switched. You will get differing opinions on this.

...5. Shim the needle .03 inches (what does this do hypothetically?)

Karen