YZ80 fork input needed
Close

Looking at JohnnyBlaze's thread on the old forum: https://tw200forum.com/forums/73991/ShowPost.aspx

I have no experience with forks and putting them together, I've never even pulled them apart either. But curious if the stationary part (mounted to triple tree) of the YZ80 forks could be assembled to the sliding part (axle bolts to) of the TW's forks? I'm okay with losing some travel as I don't feel I need it all. Just curious if something like this is even possible?

Just throwing out an idea. Feel free to give me a straight up answer. Just want to know.

Thanks for the input!

Pat
    Sold bike.

Youtube vids of old TW's acceleration:

Hidden Content

Hidden Content

Pat, I think everyone will ask you for additional clarification. Based on my thinking and experience, if you are to try and mate one part of the YZ to another part of the TW, I would say it is very unlikely without major modification.

Now, the potential of putting a complete YZ fork (tubes) into a "bored out" TW tripple-tree holds lots of potential, but no-one to my knowledge has presented a "complete" and tested set-up. Seems Jonny came 'very' close, but we have not heard from him since his last "mock-up".

You will likely need the TW tripple-tree for its width if you stay with the stock front wheel (Rodrey did not). I was able to overbore my stock 32mm (I think) triple-tree to 34mm (I think) to use the Tri-Z forks. For me, these forks have been great, but required some significant changes to brake mounts that would require that you give some serious thoughts to safety.

For me, the stock axle was plenty long enough for the new forks. However, the axle 'holes' in the new Tri-Z forks were a larger diameter. Again, caution here, but I felt comfortable having a machinist make sleeves/bushings to produce a snug fit.