Yamaha TW125
Close

Thread: Yamaha TW125

Hi All,

I found this site by accident a couple of months ago and when I saw the TW I wanted one for myself.

I'm from Belgium and unfortunately it is almost impossible to buy a TW200 over here in Europe because they were never imported.

I really wanted to make a custom TW so I had no other option than to buy a TW125. I must confess, it rides lovely, perfect for cruising

the town. A little bit to slow to get on the highway but for a sunday cruise on state roads it is divine

I have allready started chopping and customizing it. Round headlight, drag pipe, change the tail and taillight, new winkers on the way.

When it is done, I will try to post some pices of it.

The only problem I have is that I have no knowledge what so ever on the technical side. Bolting stuff on and off is no problem for every human

with 2 hands but when it comes to knowledge of engines I'm a total newb.

My question is the following : I'm thinking about buying a Mikuni VM26 carb for on the bike. The factory carb and choke are not really giving me confidence.

The bike does not start properly, It is allways a hussle. The engine plug is a little bit white and when I looked that up on the net I found out that

I have to adjust the carb to get it straight. I do not know how to do that and I have also no jets available for that carb.

So I heard around and I was told that a Mikuni VM26 is a good carb for the TW with a better choke system and also an air screw on the carb to get perfect mixture.

Now, first of all, is this info correct ?

Second : I can get a Mikuni VM26 new for a fair price and I also get a box of jets with that. But can someone tell me what are good jet sizes for the TW125 ?

Is it possible for me without knowledge to adjust the carb for perfect mixture or am I better of to let it be done by a dealer ?

Thx allready

Havoc