Close

Like Tree9Likes
  • 2 Post By twbuchner
  • 3 Post By TW-Brian
  • 2 Post By centralwarider
  • 2 Post By Purple

Thread: Mild customization basic questions

Mild customization basic questions

I'm new to the TW world with a recently acquired almost new 2015 TW200. I'd like to start in on some very basic simple modifications based on an ebay bike I had seen a few years ago (these photos). Things like a round headlight, replacing plastic fenders with metal fenders like these, small-scale turn signals, a smaller tail light, etc. Not planning to replace gas tank or seat at this point, just trying for a bit more of a retro look and get rid of some of the plastic.

Any sourcing advice for such parts would be so helpful. Best round headlight replacement? Best turn signals, best tail light, best metal fenders? etc. I've got some skills (and tools), but looking for items that work well with TWs and don't require a lot of further customizing. If someone's already compiled a list of recommended items like this, please let me know where I can find this info. Thanks -- TWB
    tw1.JPGtw2.JPGtw3.JPG
    centralwarider and old w/?? like this.

Welcome to the forum!

The look that you are trying for is commonly referred to as a "hollow mod" style. It primarily involves removing stock parts such as the airbox, passenger pegs, instruments, plastics, etc., and replacing the headlight, fenders, etc., with parts from Japan. You should be able to find most of what you need at: https://japan.webike.net/YAMAHA/TW200/816/mtop/

Brian

Love the look of that bike in the pictures. I also like the fact that the TW is still lurking inside that fancy looking street bike. I am chuckling to myself to think of riding that fancy bike to the places we were yesterday.

IMG_4578.JPG
    admiral and littletommy like this.
    2007 TW200, Cycleracks, Jimbo shield, Tinman Tim racks and tool tube mount, Shinko 244 in 5.10, Protaper ATV mid handlebars, Tusk D-flex hand guards, e-bay steel pegs