Tachometer installation and settings
Close
    
    
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Like Tree29Likes

Thread: Tachometer installation and settings

  1. #1
    Senior Member CS1983's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    634

    Tachometer installation and settings

    I ordered the tach that elime linked to on this post: https://tw200forum.com/forum/general-...tml#post647002

    Got it installed last night and confirmed everything was good to go.
    -----

    Install instructions as come with the unit are straight forward.

    Wire:
    Simply wrap the end 3-4 times and around the spark plug wire. I secured with a supplied zip tie.
    sparkplug.JPG
    I routed the wire up under the gas tank and secured the bundle to the steering column (name?) tab that sticks out w/ other supplied zip tie.
    tach2.PNG
    Connected the unit to the handlebar crossbar and secured with non-supplied zip ties.
    tach1.PNG

    Upon complete physical installation, I began the process of programming.

    Programming:
    The programming directions are a bit confusing when it comes to settings, if you don't know which one the TW200 uses. The correct setting on the unit for the TW200 is 0.2RPM.
    This is accessed by holding down the S1 button until it goes through to 2. Once that shows, release, it will flash and then it sets back to the hours screen.

    Use: The unit will start once you start the bike, displaying the RPMs of the engine. Let the engine warm up a little before messing with idle speed. Many factors influence the idle speed, from temperature to altitude, etc.

    ETA: Different wire routing after shortening the wire:

    ---

    Shout out to TDubsKid's video, which I happened upon when looking up idle speed adjustment. He basically went through the same process I went through.

    Last edited by CS1983; 07-16-2017 at 09:17 PM. Reason: added new wire routing video
    Fred, TopPredator, Gerry and 4 others like this.
    Hidden Content Hidden Content

    "I thought the slowest bike i have ever owned was going to kill me." - Hidden Content

    The John Birch Society is too Liberal.

  2. #2
    Senior Member lugnut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    alliance ohio
    Posts
    217
    I to purchased one but got it from Yamaha. Thanks for the video as I will use it to set my bike up.
    TopPredator likes this.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Peterb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    North Bay, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,472
    So whats the highest RPM you hit or do you ride like that?

  4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Senior Member CS1983's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    634
    Quote Originally Posted by Peterb View Post
    So whats the highest RPM you hit or do you ride like that?
    Not sure what you mean?

    I have mine in place for riding w/ it so I know what my RPMs are, rather than going by the ungodly noise that is the engine. I was surprised how low the RPMs are vs what the sound is.

    I also used it to adjust idle speed
    cowboyjeff likes this.
    Hidden Content Hidden Content

    "I thought the slowest bike i have ever owned was going to kill me." - Hidden Content

    The John Birch Society is too Liberal.

  6. #5
    Senior Member CS1983's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    634
    question: if I cut the wire so I don't have the giant bundle, will it still read correctly?
    Hidden Content Hidden Content

    "I thought the slowest bike i have ever owned was going to kill me." - Hidden Content

    The John Birch Society is too Liberal.

  7. #6
    Senior Member Fred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Turtle Wrangling the Sierras
    Posts
    18,561
    Good question CS1983, for I too dislike bundled up excess wiring. Since the tac works by picking up an induction pulse from the spark plug wire I doubt reducing the overall impedance of the lead wire by shortening it would matter. One could always measure the resistance of the removed length of wire and if concerned replace it with a series wired resistor of matching impedance.
    2003 TW200 "Betty Boop"
    2006 TW200 "Nibbler", a.k.a. “Mr.Gizmo"
    Hidden Content All Things Considered I’ld Rather Be Motorcycling

  8. #7
    Senior Member Dryden-Tdub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Dryden NY
    Posts
    6,336
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred View Post
    Good question CS1983, for I too dislike bundled up excess wiring. Since the tac works by picking up an induction pulse from the spark plug wire I doubt reducing the overall impedance of the lead wire by shortening it would matter. One could always measure the resistance of the removed length of wire and if concerned replace it with a series wired resistor of matching impedance.
    Ohm my God that is good advice Fred.



    Tom
    It won't be greed which destroys America. It will be envy.

    Man who runs in front of motorcycle gets tired. Man who runs behind motorcycle gets exhausted.

  9. #8
    Senior Member CS1983's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    634
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred View Post
    Good question CS1983, for I too dislike bundled up excess wiring. Since the tac works by picking up an induction pulse from the spark plug wire I doubt reducing the overall impedance of the lead wire by shortening it would matter. One could always measure the resistance of the removed length of wire and if concerned replace it with a series wired resistor of matching impedance.
    I asked an EE buddy after I posted and he said the wire should be able to be shortened w/ no ill effects. Since the tach is only 7 bucks, I'll go ahead and shorten it up.

    I plan to leave it slightly long for future projects (gas tank, handlebar raising, etc.). That way I don't end up w/ a wire which is too short in the future. I think a few wraps is a better compromise than a fistful of wire or being a 1/2" short or something.
    Fred, littletommy and admiral like this.
    Hidden Content Hidden Content

    "I thought the slowest bike i have ever owned was going to kill me." - Hidden Content

    The John Birch Society is too Liberal.

  10. #9
    Senior Member scotti158's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Groton, NY
    Posts
    2,663
    Quote Originally Posted by CS1983 View Post
    question: if I cut the wire so I don't have the giant bundle, will it still read correctly?
    I shortened mine, no problems.
    cowboyjeff, Fred and CS1983 like this.
    2013 Yamaha TW200

    1996 Yamaha TW200

    1995 Kawasaki KLR650

    2002 Yamaha RoadStar 1600 with sidecar

  11. #10
    Senior Member lugnut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    alliance ohio
    Posts
    217
    I just installed my tach from Yamaha and it is 4 stroke only so no setting it up it is ready to go.
    YAMAHA DELUXE OFFROAD HOUR METER & TACHOMETER - FITS ALL 4-STROKE & 2 STROKES
    A little pricey for some folks but for Yamaha 4 stroke motors and easy to read screen.
    littletommy likes this.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Sponosred Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. TW200 High altitude carb settings
    By Ndica in forum Technical Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-20-2017, 12:39 PM
  2. Exhaust mount torque settings
    By devilnutzUSMC in forum Technical Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-2012, 03:12 PM
  3. Why doesn't it let me see my settings??
    By Gorilla in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-30-2012, 09:12 PM
  4. PM Settings
    By RockyTFS in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-30-2011, 12:24 PM
  5. 2003 carb. settings?
    By 123elementm in forum Technical Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-14-2010, 04:27 AM