My First TW - Build Thread
Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree53Likes

Thread: My First TW - Build Thread

Red face My First TW - Build Thread

Hi Everyone,

My previous bikes have been a 250 Rebel, FZR 600, a few Ruckus 50's, and a Big Ruckus 250. A couple of my scooter buddies got trail bikes and I wanted to join them in the fun. I'm not very technically savvy, so will be asking a lot of questions and doing a lot of reading through this site for help.

I ended up with a 94 that's pretty beat up for $1800 and pr'ly needs a new battery as it didn't start from the electric button, but kicked right away and sounded good. I really wanted/preferred the more recent one from Goldenhtr, but found a deal many hours closer and ready to pick up so I pulled the trigger. I was without transpo since my most recent bike was rear-ended by an uninsured motorist and I just couldn't get it to start after that, no matter what we tried.

I'll post a pic later today and hope I can get some good constructive comments on things that may need to be replaced right away.

My initial concern is reconciling the stories told by the seller, where he said it's been a great reliable bike and he's taken it all over the place...yet the title is dated 9/7/17 and has someone else's name on it. It appears he bought it a few months ago & never changed the title over. Sadly, it was dark and freezing by the time we got there & I had to be up for work at 3.3a the next morning so I wasn't being as careful/scrutinizing as I should have been. He was a really nice guy. I'm hoping I don't get destroyed by penalties or have any issues at the DMV when registering this thing.

Thanks to excalibur for pointing me to the sale!

I'm staying positive & hoping I'll have a reliable bike.
    I've started combing the site for battery recommendations and it looks like the battery tender one is commonly suggested. Is there a thread with general specs of the bike or an online Service Manual I could download?