TW200 Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Vote for the Site Favourite BOTM winner for the year of 2022 HERE!

here goes the 250 build

9K views 30 replies 10 participants last post by  vanillagorilla1 
#1 · (Edited)
I've been collecting the oem parts for a year now and I'm tired of tripping over boxes of engine parts in my shop. So I'm going to get moving a little more on this project. I still have a lot more work to do and am still incredibly busy with life so I wont be making much faster progress than I have been but Id like to document it for those who'd like to know. I have a running 225 6 speed high compression motor that ive been running for a few years and over 10k miles. It went so well that I thought I'd give it another go. SO here are some specs on what I have and ill continue to update as I can.

-96 xt225 short block. eBay motor of unknown mileage, but I don't care cause its getting all new bearings ect
-machined tw output shaft
-tw cylinder head
-xt stainless head pipe

items i need
-starter

First things first and thats to get the sleeve, piston, rings, crank rebuild parts, valves, springs, valve seals and send them off. once thats back to me ill have the case machined for the 74mm sleeve and build the bottom end.

See less See more
#6 ·
I be following !!

Sebastians info says it works and is 16mm, I am still looking for a resleeving service, before I commit to piston as well I'd prefer 9.5 to 1 at 250cc rather than 10.25 to 1 at 226 and that is basically the difference. I guess shipping it all is no big deal as I just cam to me in the perfect box !!

Reactions: jtomelliott49
#7 ·
im going off sebastians info as well. he helped me the last go around with my 225.

heres a link to the guy that rebuilt my crank, honed the cylinder, and re cut the valves last time. I will be contacting him shortly when I get a cylinder and my sleeve shows up. he does excellent work
Home Page

#8 ·