gear on front rack blocks headlight
Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree43Likes

Thread: gear on front rack blocks headlight

gear on front rack blocks headlight

Hello all. I am brand new to riding, as in we just got my first ever bike last night. you probably guessed it is a TW200 since I am on this forum. We purchased the front rack from cycle racks and then realized after it was installed if i put anything on it over a couple inches tall I am blocking the headlamp. My husband wanted me to ask the forum what other solutions people have for this. For example, are there auxiliary lights I can install higher up like near the handle bars, etc.? It needs to be a simple install too, no welding, etc.

We are planning on doing some moto camping so I will be using the front and back rack for gear. I tried to attach a photo to show how just a bedroll bag on the front rack blocks the light. Any suggestions appreciated.

Thank you!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Elvesus, Tweaker and Fred like this.

Congrats on the new bike and welcome to the forum!

Cycle Racks makes a pretty good product, but unfortunately their front racks are not particularly useful unless you only ride off-road during daylight hours . I have seen a few members with front racks that carry their load up above the headlight, but even that design presents its own problems. Lots of people have added auxiliary lights up front (usually LED's), so that may be a viable option for you.

Brian
    Elvesus likes this.

how often would you really need to haul gear up front and drive at night ? for most it's not the normal or common ride

The tiny amount the front rack can hold could easily he added to the rear rack or a back pack or even a tank bag for a short night ride

modern LED lighting would allow for a helmet lamp or two lights mounted on each side of the fork where the reflectors mount