I'm making a seat cover
Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Everything I know about upholstery work was gleaned from youtube or bugging friends for tips. I'm not a pro, but I know my way around a sewing machine. I decided I'd like a black and gray seat for my TW because I don't like the blue one. I guess I prefer a boring looking bike.. I may experiment with this seat for comfort reasons as well. New foam inserts or additional padding on top.

I ebayed a whole 1987 seat because I wanted to make my own seat cover. The seat I have is nice enough I didn't want to mess with it.

I carefully removed the staples from the pan to remove the cover.

Apart, the pan and foam are in great shape.

Time to cut it up (carefully) for pattern making purposes

Patterns being used

New marine vinyl pieces are cut out

I bought a Consew walking foot sewing machine off of an AM radio call-in classifieds show last fall. I'm glad I'm finally using it to make useful things. I double stitched the seams for durability and a good look.

The final step after this is going to be finding a shallow set of staples and carefully applying my new cover to the seat. I'm going to make a new grab strap as well.

1993 TW200

Looks great!

great looking! did you make it a bit bigger for added cushioning?
    1994 TW226- 6spd. 10w-40 synthetic, XTHidden Content , XT225 stainless header, +2" Joemama swingarm, lizrd cooler, +20% fork springs, +25% rear spring, 2001 speedo w/ trip odo, pro taper atv bars, bark busters, shinko 241 front tire, front fender w/ mr bracket bracket, Hidden Content , o-ring chain, ricochet skid plate, Hidden Content , XT225 rear brake cam lever, folding-tip shifter, cycle rack, kolpin 1.5 aux tank & 1450 pelican case. Hidden Content or Hidden Content

Hidden Content

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

It's the same size as the old seat cover, so it'll probably stretch more. The secret trick is a steamer to soften it to work with.
    1993 TW200