1994 TW200 Rebuild
Close

Hello Everybody! I have been following this forum ever since I bought my first TW and I love the community on here. So...I decided to document my own TW mod. I bought this 1994 TW200 about a year ago for a heck of a deal. It had 2000 miles on it and now has about 2600 and still runs like a champ. Everything was stock on it and I got bored, so I decided to rent a storage unit and tear into the TW. My primary objective was to reprint the bike from the original blue to a dark green, but I have not had any luck with a durable spray paint. I have tried several different paints including the Krylon Fusion and it still scratches off without any effort. I am not thinking of buying new plastics but I have not found any that I really like. Any suggestions?

Also I may use this opportunity to do a little performance work (jet the carb, new exhaust, etc.). Anyone have some recommendations for me? I am fairly new in the dirt bike world and need some help!

I am posting pictures of the project so far...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]

My '94 is torn down at the moment for a rebuilt. It's exactly like yours but is blue/orange. I'm keeping mine stock looking with the French blue and crazy orange graphics and seat.

I picked up a DG O-series exhaust off eBay for $158 shipped. There are 2 version of this pipe - one for '87-'02 bikes and one for the newer '03+. In 2003, Yamaha slightly changed the exhaust mount point location. I also picked up a stainless header pipe from an '07 TTR230 (direct swap) off ebay for $30 shipped. I'm not expecting much of a performance gain but it will sound better. The polished header and exhaust will add some bling.

I got a jet kit from ProCycle that has a few different jets and washer shims for under the needle to fine tune things. The tech section has lots of info on the needle shims and carb cleaning/tuning.

Can't help you with the paint. Good luck with your project.