My TW 200 custom build No 1... 97% finished
Close

My TW 200 custom build No 1... 97% finished

hi guys, i'm new to the TW's and only bought one 6 months ago because it was going cheap( I have 3 now!), since then i started to search google, mainly for parts as at first were not readily available here and started seeing customised TW's all over and liked what i saw!...

Most of you on this site would be shocked at the condition of the TW's here in Thailand where i live, 95% are heaps of shit left to ruin by short term owners, i live on an island where lots of people come to do dive courses from between 3-12 months so many buy a bike to run around on, dont care about servicing or maintaining them, i would say 99% of them wouldnt even know how to tighten a rear brake, they just buy them because they think they 'look cool' on a big bike as opposed to a honda wave or click.
    if it starts and drives thats all they see and care about, so tyres are slicks, lights dont work, exhausts blow, oil rarely changed, panels are held on with tape and zip ties..1 TW i bought had the rear foot peg welded on rather then the owner goto the hardware shop and buy a nut n bolt!!!
    There are NO laws here regarding road worthiness, so some bikes you see here are a joke...!!
    anyway due to these reasons and knowing a bit about cars n bike myself i have managed to buy 3 TW's separately for a total of $1239US!!

so here are some photos of the 1st re-build i have done, its not totally finished yet but other work has put it on hold.

i was going to buy a new swingarm from japan but managed to extend the old one myself with help from this site, some you-tube clips and a welder guy who charged me 500THB/ $15 (gotta love thailand for labour costs).

supertrapp exhaust from bangkok(2nd hand japan import)

got new swingarm bushes from US ebay,

re-wired new light switch and bungbon start/stop throttle,

re-wired everything else after years of bodging buy tight arsed owners!

new clutch