Neutral Switch Problem?
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Neutral Switch Problem?

Hello,

I have recently installed the new Trail Tech Voyager GPS/Speedo. (I will post pictures soon.) Everything went pretty well. But when I put it all back together, my neutral switch (I think) is no longer working. The indicator light won't come on and the bike will not start in neutral alone as it used to. I can still get it started with the clutch in and side-stand up. I am not very good with electrical systems so I would really appreciate it if someone could help me out with troubleshooting this.

Here is some information about what I did that may have contributed to the problem... I hope talking through this will hint to a possible solution.

I installed the computer in place of the indicator light box so I could have it sit beside my stock speedo/odometer. It also made sense to put it here because I had lost the meter box a few weeks ago during my participation in the La/Barstow to Vegas ride. For the past few weeks, I had been looking at blank bulbs without the cover. All the indicators and the neutral switch seemed to still be working at that point. During the Voyager installation, I removed the indicator bulbs and sockets from the rubber piece and pulled the "SOCKET CORD ASSY" 15A-83509-00-00 away from that area and re-routed it. (I had a plan to modify and relocate the indicator lights.)