Base Gasket Leak Question
Close

I know this subject has probably been talked to death, but I have a different twist. I'm still not a TW owner (yet), but have been watching for the right one to come along for about the right price and close enough so as not to break the bank going to get it. I've read about the base gasket leaks and see some references to them being mainly in the 05 - 08 model years with quite a high percentage of them being 06 models and that the leaks (if they start) are usually around the 3000 mile mark. I've seen several 06 models for what I think is a good price with under 1000 miles. Would the possibility of a leaker developing make you shy away from this model year? I'm not a mechanic by any means, but I'm sure I'd be fine working on it if it needed it and I've got some family help that definitely can help me if I got in over my head. I just don't want to step into something I should maybe have avoided.

Thanks.

Dave

I don't think that issue would deter me from buying one.

Quote Originally Posted by lonedave View Post
    I know this subject has probably been talked to death, but I have a different twist. I'm still not a TW owner (yet), but have been watching for the right one to come along for about the right price and close enough so as not to break the bank going to get it. I've read about the base gasket leaks and see some references to them being mainly in the 05 - 08 model years with quite a high percentage of them being 06 models and that the leaks (if they start) are usually around the 3000 mile mark. I've seen several 06 models for what I think is a good price with under 1000 miles. Would the possibility of a leaker developing make you shy away from this model year? I'm not a mechanic by any means, but I'm sure I'd be fine working on it if it needed it and I've got some family help that definitely can help me if I got in over my head. I just don't want to step into something I should maybe have avoided.

Thanks.

Dave