Add me to the broken bolt club!
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Add me to the broken bolt club!

Add me to the broken bolt club!

I was changing my oil today, 3rd on the tw since I've had it, and sure enough, broke the filter cap bolt. The top left bolt as you look at the cap just wouldn't tighten. My book says 7.2 ft lbs and yet the bolt just never would seem to tighten to that. I was being uber careful, but I kept having an ever so slight leak from the cap between that bolt and the bottom allen bolt, so I kept trying to snug it up just a little more. I can't get a pair of pliers on it. Anybody have any luck getting these out with an e z out?

A friend who is a BMW tech by trade, drilled mine out and re-tapped it to 8MM.

There shouldn't be any tension on it now that the head is broke off, so try an awl or pick or tiny center punch or something like that and just try to turn it out backwards. Tap it a couple times, spray some oil in there, if you can get movement, you probably can get it.
    williamemack likes this.
    1st John 1:9
    If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

John 3:16
    For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

John 3:17
    For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.

Hidden Content <<<Click here. Hidden Content

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

If it leaks you need a new o-ring.