Shuts off when I stop/ Noobie questions
Close

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By gamorg02

Thread: Shuts off when I stop/ Noobie questions

Shuts off when I stop/ Noobie questions

Hi, Im Brian. Im 20, and just got my very first TW200. Its a 2003 model with Believe it or not, 7,459 miles on it. I just painted it, and Changed the front tire. Back tire is still the same.

Now I have 1 problem and some questions.

When Im going down the road, and im cruising at 55 everythings fine. But when someone forces me to make a quick stop, or the Light changed and I have to slow down, The engine dies when I pull the clutch and apply break. I been training my hand to give it gas while I pull the clutch so it wouldn't stall in the process of coming to a stop. I pulled the carb off and Cleaned the jets, and put them back on, but it still does the same thing. I just ordered a Pilot mixture tool to help with a mixture if That's the problem. I am very new at this whole motorcycle world and It was fun Taking the front tire off and changing the tire and tube by myself. It was like a bicycle it was fun. But What could be causing it to shut off during a quick stop? If I have to Adjust something, what is it and what is the suggested turns on it. (Remember Im just a young kid who knows a little about engines)

Also I have a question about the engine. I been noticing that there is something leaking on the engine. I don't know if its oil, or what I think is leaking is the black high temp paint I put on it to keep it painted. Something looks liquidy on the cooling fins. How can I Idenify if its oil or something else?

And lastly, what is the suggested Miles range to play with the valves. I have no intention on playing with them yet, but I would love to know the number so I can prepare when it hits that age.