i need to know exactly before i order
Close

Like Tree4Likes
  • 3 Post By GaryL
  • 1 Post By greenbomb

Thread: i need to know exactly before i order

i need to know exactly before i order

Good evening all, I just got a chain and sprocket set and was planning on changing them this weekend and after looking at some posts i am seeing that a new gasket is needed and some seals..? I have never done this before and i would guess my 22 year old with 10,300 miles has not either(200 are mine). What will i need exactly because my bike is kept up north far from any place that would have what i need. Can I use liquid gasket from a tube? Any special tools besides the sizes in the tool kit? What seals need to be ordered? I've seen posts that mention thread locker and anti seize. What gets what? Any other parts or tools i will need. I would like to do this in one shot. Thank you for your help.

You will need the left side cover gasket. No gasket gunk from a tube should be trusted. It is a smart idea to replace the seals while you are in there. The drive shaft the front sprocket is on has a seal where it exits the internal engine and also a seal in the side cover you remove. The shifter shaft also has a seal where it comes out of the engine. All three of these oil seals might be fine but it is good insurance to replace them.

I would not attempt any of this wrenching if all I had was the on board tool kit at my disposal! Not saying it can't be done but you are opening a can of worms and I highly suggest you have a good tool box with you if you run in to problems. Also, make a template out of cardboard and trace the pattern of the new gasket on it. As you remove each side cover screw poke it in to the corresponding hole of the template so you know where each different screw gets returned to.