49 State vs Cal Carb Q&A - Opinions - Advice?
Close

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Leisure Time Larry

Thread: 49 State vs Cal Carb Q&A - Opinions - Advice?

49 State vs Cal Carb Q&A - Opinions - Advice?

I purchased a 2006 Tdub a few weeks ago:
    WP_20140724_003_zps959317c4.jpg

This is my first TW. Although I have been riding for over 45 years and have had many motorcycles (currently 7 in the stable) so this is not my first rodeo.

But I have questions regarding the Cal model. I think I have one like that.
    Very interested in opinions and advice on this model. So don't be shy!

What exactly is this thing?
    WP_20140724_002_zps080cc75e.jpg

Do I need it? Can I make my existing CV carb work with out it? Or is that not advisable.
    Is there an advantage to doing away with that canister? (I'm considering adding an oil cooler and would like to use this space for that)
    Also considering adding a Clark gas tank to increase my range and not sure if this canister will be in the way.
    Is there a performance improvement to use a 49 state carb? Or better yet, opinions on swapping to a Mikuni VM round slide (I have a lot of experience with those - I have converted my CX and DR from CV to Round slide Mikuni). I like the instant throttle response.
    I was going to reserve that to a last resort on the TW. So far it runs ok but feels like it should run better / stronger!

Opinions? Advice?
    Last edited by EnduroRdr; 07-26-2014 at 08:52 AM.
    1989 TW200 - replaced almost everything!

Senior Member Leisure Time Larry's Avatar
    It's a fuel evaporation canister. Yes, you can loose it if you want, but no it isn't going to hurt anything, rob power, etc. It's been discussed in detail before, and since I'm on my smartphone right now, I'm going to suggest you search for "evaporation canister" or even "what is this thing" on this site. Good luck.
    - Leisure Time Larry -
    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content