good replacement chain for use with stock sprocket size
Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: good replacement chain for use with stock sprocket size

Hi folks,

I am a newb to the site.

I am going to upgrade the chain (and therefor change both sprockets).

Anyone know a good chain to use with the stock sprockets?

How many links is the stock chain?

Just realized I am going to have to replace a bunch of gaskets and seals......that is a really annoying chain guard situation.

All the more reason to get a tougher chain.

thinking of getting a EK 428 SROZ chain.

Anyone using that chain?

Thanks!

If you have a late model TW with stock 14/50 sprockets, this is a good chain... 122 links.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/DID-D...item35b04d60c0

I have no affiliation with the seller.

jb
    2018 Triumph Street Twin..............2016 CB500F
    2014 XT250 ..................................2008 H-D Softail Deluxe
    2008 SV 650..................................2007 DR 650..

I have just under 13,000mi on a D.I.D. O-ring chain, lubed with ATF. Someone here mentioned the ATF way back on the other server.

The stock chain lasted me almost exactly 3,000mi, stretched beyond adjustment although well maintained. Saw some gnarly pics of a chain that derailed and ruptured the gearbox...

You'll hear some unreal lifespans for stock chains, they are just as advertised. UNREAL.
    Moabman likes this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by grt View Post
    Hi folks,

I am a newb to the site.

I am going to upgrade the chain (and therefor change both sprockets).

Anyone know a good chain to use with the stock sprockets?

How many links is the stock chain?

Just realized I am going to have to replace a bunch of gaskets and seals......that is a really annoying chain guard situation.

All the more reason to get a tougher chain.

thinking of getting a EK 428 SROZ chain.

Anyone using that chain?

Thanks!