Electric Start not working
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree31Likes

Thread: Electric Start not working

Electric Start not working

Hello all!

This is my first time posting and hoping to get a little insight on an issue I have with my electric start on my TW. Forgive me if this has been addressed somewhere else.

Background:
    I recently bought a 1989 TW from an old boss in April. Little over 3,000 miles and in pretty good condition. Bike runs like a top, fires right up on the first or second kick every time, runs like a champ. However, the electric start does not work. Yeah, it's not a huge deal as the bike has the kick start but not having the electric start really bugs me.
    I'm not stranger to forums so I'll try to detail EVERYTHING I know as of now.

What's really happening?
    With the key turned to ON, hitting the starter button produces a "click-click clicking" sound. I'm assuming that is the relay. But the starter is not turning, not even budge.

So what did I do first?
    I bought a new battery thinking that was the issue. The old one was the original and was toast. New battery, same result. Next, I came here and read up as much as I could on the electrical system of the bike.

What I can (or at least think I can) eliminate from what could be causing it.

All safetys for kick stand and neutral are intact.

What I could gather from sifting through this site:
    I've read something on here that the clutch plates could be stuck together. What I got from the previous owner is the guy he bought it from said he never used the electric starter. Not sure if it wasn't working then but I feel safe to assume that those clutch plates are probably stuck together and to fix this, put the bike in 3rd or 4th and try rolling the bike to free them. Is that thinking correct?