engine Knocking sound????
Close

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Hello, if anyone can give me a clue to my little problem I would appreciate it.

Tw 2009 600 miles on it.

There is a high pich knocking sound that seem to be coming from de valves. It only does this when the bike is warm and at low rpm (idle as well). if I give it some gas the bike sounds fine and when the rpms come back down to idle, it takes 2 or 3 seconds before the sound starts again??????

I ajusted the valves at 500 miles. I checked the valves a second time to see if I did something wrong and the intake needed a very minor ajustement. I checked the tensioner and it seemed fine and the noise is still there.

I am not a mechanic but I know a litte bit and I've ajusted a couple of dozen valves on different bikes and never had any trouble. I know the procedure.

I have another tw 2003 with 6000miles and it does not do the sound in question.

Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance

Cruiser
    The journey is more important then the destination and to have someone to talk to about your journey is the most important of all. Enjoy every day and keep riding.

So I read so other posts on jetting and fuel to try to figure out if the bike is tune right.

From what I read the jetting is fine but I did not know that because the engine has a low compression ratio it is better to go with lower octane but with no ethanol ( I ran with 94 octane from petro-canada).

I live in Canada and I have to check tomorrow at the fuel station which grade does not contain ethanol. I'm sure the 87 can contain up to 15% ethanol but I'm not sure for the 89 and 91.

To come back to my little problem, The sound is more like a clicking. I checked the valves clearance a third time and the intake was again a little tight .001, so I set to .003. Could it be the break in that is making the clearance change in such a short time?

Will do a test drive has soon has the weather clears.....