Fuel petcock question
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    So I'm pretty new to owning and maintaining motorcycles. I've done all my own automotive maintenance so I know my way around a shop. But needless to say I feel like an idiot with this question. On the fuel petcock (which I am completely ignorant of it's operation and purpose), how do you know which direction is on? Yesterday I had the longer piece of the switch towards the "on". After riding about 2 miles the bike stalled out. So i switched to the other side "res". It ran to the gas station and I only put 1.2 gallons in. I left it towards the "res" the rest of yhe way home and it was just fine. So I wasn't out of gas. I guess my question is what is the difference (if any) between the res and on? Is it detrimental to leave it on "res" instead of "on"? Thanks guys. On a side note, I freakin love this bike. My mountain bike hasn't seen the light of day for the past three weeks!

Quote Originally Posted by Boarder255 View Post
    So I'm pretty new to owning and maintaining motorcycles. I've done all my own automotive maintenance so I know my way around a shop. But needless to say I feel like an idiot with this question. On the fuel petcock (which I am completely ignorant of it's operation and purpose), how do you know which direction is on? Yesterday I had the longer piece of the switch towards the "on". After riding about 2 miles the bike stalled out. So i switched to the other side "res". It ran to the gas station and I only put 1.2 gallons in. I left it towards the "res" the rest of yhe way home and it was just fine. So I wasn't out of gas. I guess my question is what is the difference (if any) between the res and on? Is it detrimental to leave it on "res" instead of "on"? Thanks guys. On a side note, I freakin love this bike. My mountain bike hasn't seen the light of day for the past three weeks!