Tuneup and new parts help, please. 2001 TW
Close

Hello all - avid follower here and I'd like to thank all contributors for putting together such an awesome resource for TW owners. After muuuuch surfing, I've picked up some very good info and themes as to what I want to do with the bike (now at 800 miles and needing a service). This was going to be a wrench-on-it-myself type of affair as I'm an interested, but total noob, to bike DIY.

Unfortunately (and after issues with the float bowl -- even after having Yam dealer clean and reassemble after taking possession from my father in law a year ago), the bike has never really started well (too rich, it floods, etc etc) -- and with fuel now readily leaking from the carb (bad gasket / reassembly) I am in over my head and will be taking it down to a local tech for help.

While it's there, I'd planning to have him work on a few things and here's where I need the help. I have a general plan of what I want done, but I'd also take suggestions and comments:

1) fix the damn carb leak / float bowl / adjustments. LOTS of info on that here and if anyone wants to make a suggestion (jets, washers, etc) - I'm all ears, but FYI I live and ride at 572 ft elevation, my rides top out at 1600 feet and drop down to 0 and my riding temps range from 50 to 90F ambient -- so I'm pretty much a set-it-to-stock scenario, I'd think.

2) as I very predominately ride asphalt and some fire roads, I'll go to a 15T front sprocket and replace the rear with new (stock gearing). Also going to an o-ring chain. I would very much like suggestion as to where to order those sprockets and the chain. And please advise: is this still a 428 chain or does the additional front tooth require a different model?

3) oil service, check clutch adjustment