'87 electric?
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: '87 electric?

Hi Gang,

Sorry. I'm a real rookie when it comes to electrical systems. I just bought an '87 "T-Dub" and I would like to start upgrading some things right away. First I'd like to mount a round (H4)? headlight. Second, I'd like to mount a better (louder) horn.

I've read that the '87 has a weak re-charging system. Are these upgrades possible? and if so, how?

I'm sorry if these sound like dumb questions. Like I said New...

I have the skills necessary to build a headlight mount and bracket, etc. I just don't know if the electrical on the '87 can handle it.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

You really should consider babying your '87's electical system.

The '87 lighting coil was designed to power one 35w bulb at full rpm.

Depending on the "look" you're trying to acheive you can go with a larger round or square headlight with a bigger reflector. This will give you a broader, further reaching light pattern for the same 35w. In effect it "feels" like a brighter bulb. If you're gunna go with the smaller 5" Bates type headlight you'll probably get even less usable light than the stocker.

TThe horn doesn't present quite the same issues as it runs off the battery/charging system. There are several threads concerning upping the horn output and installing horn relays, etc.

I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.

Powdercoated '87 frame, extended swingarm, YZ fork legs, ATV tire, 14/55, XT350 tank, spliced quick-release seat, disc brake conversion, beeg headlight, beeger rack, Lizrdcooler, Lizrdventz and bunch of other stuff all covered in invisible ink.

Hidden Content

Hidden Content

Start looking into stator coil rewinding
    ITCB

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

doublepost
    ITCB

Quote Originally Posted by operose View Post
    Start looking into stator coil rewinding

...and CDI rebuilding