Sort of stranded on the road. Assistance?
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree50Likes

Thread: Sort of stranded on the road. Assistance?

Battery STONE dead while out for a ride...

Out for a sweet ride today, mostly road. Stopped by the new high school just outside of town. Empty parking lot, shut it off to have a stretch. Got back on...it's 100% electrically dead. No lights, no horn, no nothing.
    Checked the obvious, gave it a 3rd gear shove and it starts. Okay. That's good news....
    I went all over everything I can think of and I can't find anything wrong. Battery terminals are tight, can't fiND any broken wires, there are 2 20 amp fuses. Botherwise are good. (Not even sure if one is a spare...but whatever...)
    I'm pretty new to the city streets in the bike and although it runs, I'd hate to stall it....and also the lights work but the tail/brake flashes with the signals and so on...indicating that my battery is dead. Or that there's an open somewhere so the battery is like it's not connected.
    Anyway....I'm going to make my way to the store down the road a ways and stop there. Maybe....or I might just take it as a warning and keep heading for home and hope that the other drivers know what hand signals are.
    Any suggestions besides checking what I've already checked?
    Last edited by GCFishguy; 05-07-2017 at 04:09 PM.
    Ken and centralwarider like this.

Senior Member Leisure Time Larry's Avatar
    It's most likely your main fuse. Even if it looks good, take it out and inspect it well. Sometimes it's just a bad connection and going in and out gets better contact. Yes, the other is the spare. Use it if you choose. It is wise to replace them occasionally anyway since oxidation and vibration can degrade them.
    - Leisure Time Larry -
    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content