Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By Bobo413
  • 1 Post By Rockytrail
  • 1 Post By Heli-Mech
  • 3 Post By Fred

Thread: Type of Gasket Sealant

Type of Gasket Sealant

Hey guys,

I've installed new paper gaskets on my TW and still notice a small leak from the around the bottom of the left side sprocket cover side.

I did notice there were some small scratched on the case when I reassembled and am now wondering I should have smoothed it an put some gasket sealant

Would some like this be alright https://www.permatex.com/products/ga...lant-dressing/

Thanks
    SD

I'm not familiar with that one , but it states it's formulated for "rubber" gaskets. I make my living as a mechanic & regularly use Permatex products.
    their Avation gasket sealant is the one I'd use for a stubborn leak. It'll be harder to clean off on the next go round , but it should cure the problem you're having now. Degrease all the surfaces well with brake parts cleaner, before you apply to both surfaces.
    Good luck with your repair ))
    Bob O
    cowboyjeff likes this.
    2005 Yamaha TW200
    2003 Kawasaki KLR650
    1995 BMW R100GSPD Classic
    1983 Honda CT110
    1984 Honda CT110

I often use Gaskacinch to back up gaskets. Its a bit like thin contact cement. Also, Honda Bond from motorcycle shops is good. Both easy to remove later if necessary.
    cowboyjeff likes this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

I use permatex Moto-Seal ..... its made for small engine assembly and is quick drying oil resistant etc.

https://www.permatex.com/products/un...et-maker-grey/
    cowboyjeff likes this.