Tranny trouble...
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree23Likes

Thread: Tranny trouble...

Tranny trouble...

I had a mishap today... I'll try to be as concise as possible... shifting is clunky and a weird noise after a sudden downshift at speed...

It's a 2014 tdub purchased used but it amazing condtion with 1560km back in may... currently 2300km as I've been trying to get on it everyday to learn riding and I'm new to motorcycles ... last owner said he gave it 3 oil changes and the last just before he parked it last winter... he says he used synthetic...

Overall it's been running great as far as I know... when it was safetied the shop told me the chain needed adjusting so they did... after I started reading about chain maintenance I decided to lube it us cause it seemed "gummy" and that was 2 weeks ago... at this time I looked at the chain slack and it seemed in spec but I didn't measure...

Anyways, I was accelerating out of a curve and my boot slipped and I down shifted hard with the throttle on and the engine revved real high... when I stopped a couple minutes later I noticed a ticking sound even in neutral that only went away as I let out the clutch but started again when fully in gear... shifting seemed super clunky now... but it behaved normal when cruising...

I parked it and measured the chain slack cause it looked super loose... it was 2" which I think is way out of spec... is it supposed to rub on the pad thing on top of the swingarm?

What could cause such a sudden chain slackening? I stayed up till 2am last night trying to read up on possible causes and I stressing out... everything from just loose chain to complete tranny destruction...

I'm not adverse to looking into this problem and getting dirty but i have no experience opening up engines etc... but I don't want this to grenade when I'm cruising so ignoring it isn't an option...