Crankcase cover removal
Close

I have seen posts by folks talking about what a pain it is to remove the right crank case cover and how easy it is to strip the screw heads. I'm by no means a TW expert, but I've been working on engines for most of my life and I've figured a few things out.

Here's a brief crank case cover removal tutorial. More like a couple of hints, but maybe somebody will find it useful.

1. Buy an impact driver. These can be purchased from such places as Craftsman, KD Tools, Snap On, NAPA, etc. Make sure it has a #3 Philips bit included. For those unfamiliar with impact drivers: http://www.sears.com/craftsman-impac...&blockType=G10 You will find this to be one of the most used tools in your tool box. I would recommend against the Craftsman for the simple reason that it is a 1/2" square drive. You will find a 3/8" square drive model much more versatile. I've used mine for pretty much any fastener that I have a 3/8" drive socket or bit for.

2. Use the #3 Philips tip in the impact driver. Make sure you use the #3. These are #3 screws, not #2. If I had to guess, I'd say that many of the screw heads that have been stripped have been because a #2 Philips was used.

Using the driver is simple. Put the bit in the screw head and twist the tool counter clockwise (for removing a fastener) While maintaining rotating force on the tool, strike the back of the tool sharply with a hammer. This causes the tool to "cam" left with the subsequent impact loosening the screw. Screws heads get stripped because, with a really tight screw, it is virtually impossible to provide enough force against the screw to prevent the screwdriver slipping, while at the same time rotating the screwdriver. The impact driver solves this problem by providing the rotary force for you. All you have to do is hold slight force to the left, while pushing in on the tool.