Solvent, kerosene
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Several places in the manual talk about cleaning things with "solvent." I'm new to engine maintenance. What kind of solvent are they talking about? (the more specific, the better, please.)

Also, regarding cleaning the chain with kerosene. I've never bought kerosene. Is there more than one kind? Where do you guys get it?

thanks

Mark
    Mark

2007 TW200

I've always went to my local AutoZone or Napa and bought a gallon of cleaning solvent. I dont remember what brand it is, but I think they're all basicly the same. As for kerosene I think there's only one kind, I go to my local Bi-mart and buy it in a 4 gallon bucket, I use it for cleaning parts and running my shop heater in the winter. I hope this helps.
    1999 TW200 Mods- Fishing rod holder, Tail bag, handlbar risers, and soon to be JimboSheild

No 2 diesel is basically the same as kerosene as far as cleaning. Kerosene and No 1 diesel are the same thing. Mixing a little ATF in with the diesel will also help for cleaning. ATF has a high detergent content
    2009 WR250R

2005 V-Strom

1993 Shadow 1100 with Ural sidecar

2008 H-D Ultra Classic

2009 Zuma 125

2004 Zuma 50

2000 WR400F

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

I got a solvent tank a couple of Christmas's ago. When I asked about what to purchase, a couple of folks suggested 'Stoddard Solvent'. I went to a petroleum dealer and asked for Stoddard Solvent. They indicated it ran $8.00 a gallon. Since I asked Santa for a 15 gallon tank, I was shocked. I purchased 5 gallons and filled the tank with bricks to minimize the volumn. Gerry
    Take care my Friend.........