Battery maintenance
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree17Likes

Thread: Battery maintenance

Battery maintenance

I have some knowledge of maintaining batteries from a previous job but want to confirm since I read so much contradiction online regarding motorcycle batteries.

My motor wouldn't start and after charging and trying it again the battery metered at 10v so I checked the water levels and they range from dried enough to not see water (small holes don't want to tip it over too far), to flush with the plates. In my experience you fill with distilled water to the top of the plates (not too much or you reduce potency) and then charge it. But popular mechanics say to fill it to the spout of the chamber and others say to the minimal line marked on the side of the cell and not to over fill it...both seem inaccurate to me so I wanted to confirm with those more experienced.

Also in other batteries once the levels started to drop the battery was on a decline and would need to be replaced in less then 6 month...what's your prognosis?

I went to Lithium batteries, so much easier. No acid levels to worry about and hold a charge a lot longer.
    Smitty Blackstone likes this.
    2013 Yamaha TW200

1996 Yamaha TW200

1995 Kawasaki KLR650

2002 Yamaha RoadStar 1600 with sidecar

I'm considering that for my next battery but want to see what I can get out of this one first.

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

You seem to know more than most about these things !

Fill to just above the top of the plates. Overfilling a little won't really hurt or help. Charge it and see what the voltage is. If battery more than 5 years old prepare to get a new one in the near future.

That's my story..
    Go like hell, You'll get there quicker!

2005 BMWR12GS Rock Red 106k miles
    2013 TW200 - 8k- miles
    2018 X-MAX - 6k- miles

Senior Member Smitty Blackstone's Avatar
    Almost all lithium here.