1987 TW200
Close

Thread: 1987 TW200

Hello all,

My name is Wesley I Live In Mississippi.

A friend of mine gave me a 1987 tw200. the bike is in bad bad shape lots of surface rust and nothing is in working fashion. i am a advid shade tree mechanic. i can take things apart fix them and put back together most of the time. i have a few questions for this forum if someone will try to help a newbie out.

first a little history on the bike which is not much. the bike has been sitting in tall grass outside in the elements for god only knows how long. like i said nothing is in working order, the thing does not even roll. but my purpose with the bike is to get it running and driving as a project, and to get on it to learn to ride a motor cycle.

my questions are

1) Are there parts readily avaible for that year and model? if so will you please direct me there?

2) are any parts interchangeable with any other year for that bike.

3) At the current time none of the lights or anything electrical works on the bike. what is the bare essentails to get the motor running?

4)is there a way to convert the front tire and back tire to disk brakes?

5) Untill i get it running and riding there is no need for a electric start so is there a kick start avaible?

6) is there any other advice anyone can offer me on this subject?

also would like to point out that a couple dollars ($1-$100) every little while is no problem but dont have thousands to sink into this project until i determin this is the bike i want to rebuild

thank you very much for any info and advice anyone of you can halp me with!

Thank you again!

Wesley

Welcome to The T-Dub Club!

Head on over to this thread and get the manuals.

You should find just about everything you need to know in those documents, get familiar with them, they will save you a ton of money, time and aggravation.