Number of chain links needed?? Time is running short
Close

Howdy All

So my swingarm is at a buddies shop who is adding three inches to it, but it is taking longer than expected. My problem is I need to know in advance of getting it back, how many links I'll need to have for the new chain and rear sprocket.

I'm leaving for a trip on the 27th.

The particulars: switched from a stock sprocket (45t I think) to a 50t. Adding 3" so figure 5 teeth and 6 inches more swing arm.

Any ideas, I have a chain breaker and master link pliers.

Thanks Josh
    Not all men are capable of greatness, but all possess toughness.
    2001 TW a mod or two maybeHidden Content

Quote Originally Posted by bikerjosh View Post
    Howdy All

So my swingarm is at a buddies shop who is adding three inches to it, but it is taking longer than expected. My problem is I need to know in advance of getting it back, how many links I'll need to have for the new chain and rear sprocket.

I'm leaving for a trip on the 27th.

The particulars: switched from a stock sprocket (45t I think) to a 50t. Adding 3" so figure 5 teeth and 6 inches more swing arm.

Any ideas, I have a chain breaker and master link pliers.

Thanks Josh

Stock sprocket should be 50t. Nonetheless, to give you an idea I run a 14/47 with a 120 link. Measure 6 inches worth of your existing chain and count how many links and add that to 120, then round up so you can cut to your desired length.
    Sold bike.

Youtube vids of old TW's acceleration:

Hidden Content

Hidden Content

Josh,

Unless you're an astrphysicist I know of no way to reliably calculate for so many variables in advance.