Favorite Desert Tires
Close

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Zac3g
  • 1 Post By Fred

Thread: Favorite Desert Tires

Favorite Desert Tires

Hello, I'm new to this particular forum. I started riding over 50 years ago. A friend recently told me that he was going to make me an offer on his older TW200 that I can't refuse. So now, I'm starting my overly enthusiastic search for information. If purchased, this bike will be going up to the So. Cal. High Desert. I'm guessing it will get about 25% street use and 75% dirt. (Sand) Does anyone have a favorite tire combo for this type of use? (I'll also check out the forum but I wasn't sure if new tires were now available. Tires are one area that keeps changing all the time.) Thanks and I look forward to hopefully playing around with this iconic slow and steady bike.
    Dryden-Tdub likes this.

I like the trial tires on the front for the sand - MT43 for me.
    I also like the Duro on the back for sand, but it is not DOT.
    My sand riding has been on the Oregon dunes, Moab and around Quartzsite. Any ATV tire is going to give excellent sand traction.
    Check out Freds new rear tire as he use to have the Duro or Kris's comments at the start of the tread I linked.
    2001 TW200 sporting a MT43 up front. Duro has gone to a good home. 2015 VStrom XT, 1996 DT 200, Broken 2010 Xingue 400 XY. 2009 WR250r now shared with my son.

Front tires you have an ocean of choices, as the TW's front wheel is the same size as virtually every dirt bike's rear (120/130-18"). For sand personal preference varies. Some people want an aggressive, very open knobby that sinks in and "bites", while others prefer a mostly smooth tire. The Shinko 241 is a very popular choice around here, classic dual sport tread. Works well both on and off road, cheap, and lasts a long time.