Tarped for 9 yrs? Getting running?
Close

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: Tarped for 9 yrs? Getting running?

Tarped for 9 yrs? Getting running?

I’ve a 2004 that’s been under a tarp in Seattle for 9 yrs. just brought back to Cali.
    Gonna buy battery, tires, chain, filter, plugs. Try and change the oil, maybe siphon out the old gas.
    But kinda worried about all the stuff I don’t know about. Break lines, bearings, etc.
    any recommendations for replacement or procedure for getting this running safe? My sons 17 now, so we’re fixing it back up together.
    Darth likes this.

Welcome to the forum Tony!

I have no experience with that, but others do and will post up!
    "Faster, faster, faster, until the thrill of speed overcomes the fear of death."
    - Hunter S. Thompson

“It’s more fun to ride a slow bike fast, than a fast bike slow”.

"The less horsepower a motorcycle has, the more it can teach you.” - Ben Bostrom

And though a mountain may rise up and smack the livin' shit outta me,
    and wad up my bike somethin' awful...
    Still, I rise!
    (With apologies to Maya Angelou)

"Give a Damn"
    - C. M. Howe, Jr.

Hidden Content

i would pull the tank and clean it if rusted inside vinegar is a good way to get rid of it carb cleaning and replace the fuel line with a in line filter i would also do a oil change, flush the brake fluid and if the chain has stuck links i would change it tires and tubes should also be in the budget .. everything else you will need to see once its running i wouldn't go throwing a bunch of money into parts until its running also being California i hope the bike has California emissions or has 7500 miles on it or dmv will not let you register it feel free to ask questions as i have done many resurrections of bikes that have been sitting years

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

Welcome to the forum and congrats on the new (to you) bike!