Chain came off
Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree26Likes

Thread: Chain came off

Chain came off

Let's start by knowing I'm new to the motorcycle world. I have just over 900 miles on my 2019 tw.
    I set my bike down on its left side going up a sandy hill. While trying to walk it up the last bit of the hill in 1st gear, the rear tire dug a decent hole and I suspect the rear sprocket was in the dirt. I got up the hill and continued riding until my bike stalled. The chain had come off and got crammed between the front sprocket and a rubber guide piece. I got it loose and put the chain back on.
    But.
    While I was limping home the chain came off again in my driveway.
    Is this something that motorcycle guys deal with a lot? I've heard competing stories on chain stretch. I've also heard that stock tw chains are not very good.
    I hadn't checked the chain tension prior. Should this happen at 900 miles?
    Questions/comments please!
    Ken likes this.

Ken
    Inspect your chain and sprockets. If all appears ok lube that chain up good by soaking it in 80-90 weight gear oil, let it drip dry, reinstall and adjust to proper chain tension. This is not a normal thing for the chains to come off so easily. They stretch so easily I actually recommend a new o-ring chain before the sprockets get worn out.
    ZXtasy and Dryden-Tdub like this.
    1993 TW200 just shy of 46,000 miles

The stock chains seem to stretch quite a bit for some folks, I'd say partly because it's not adjusted very well from the shop and wears prematurely. Putting weight on it can change tension as well. I've been exactly where you are before. If nothing is damaged you can probably clean and reuse. If my sprockets were in good shape still I'd get a new chain.
    Ken and Dryden-Tdub like this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements