1987 wiring harness
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: 1987 wiring harness

1987 wiring harness

Anyone have any ideas on where to get a good wiring harness? Ebay is what comes to mind, I just feel like there's a good chance I could get swindled, especially because I'm fairly new to auto mechanics and am not entirely sure what i'm looking at.

Ebay is probably your best way to go, simply because it will probably be difficult to find one anywhere else.
    A couple of comments: if you're sure you want to retain your '87 electrics, make sure the harness you are looking at shows only 1987 in its fitment chart. I just saw one listed as fitting 1987 through 2008. There's no telling what you would get there, because '87 through '08 covers at least three different harnesses.

My recommendation would be to get the harness that fits 2002(ish; don't remember exactly if '01 is the same) to present and get a side cover, stator, flywheel and new CDI to match. It will probably cost around $500 total for the parts. That's what I did to my '87 because I want it to be around for the long haul and parts availability for the newer ones is much better.
    GOF likes this.
    '87 TW200
    '94 Sportster 1200
    '74 XL70 Frankenbike
    '76 CT90
    '72 CT70
    '72 XL250

Why does your harness need to be replaced?
    TWy to make a TWip to the TWails to make some TWacks.

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

Since I got my tw, (4 months ago) none of the electrics have been working. I've pulled everything apart and traced back a lot of the wires and a lot of them are missing, have sketchy crimps, etc. I spoke with a mechanic about what I should do and he told me that my best bet would be to get a new harness and he'd pull it all out and replace it. Much less labor, it would be cheaper than having him go through and replace every wire individually, re crimp things, etc.