Oil filter backwards
Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree16Likes

Thread: Oil filter backwards

Oil filter backwards

So, I'm a licensed mechanic, but in an absent minded moment I installed my oil filter backwards. Ran the bike on a couple short rides, then drove it to work - 23km @ 90-100km/hr. Coming home after work it started losing power and suddenly died..... Like fuel cut out, no other symptoms, no squeal, nothing..... Thought I needed reserve fuel tbh, but tank was over 1/2.... Immediately restarted OK, but kinda rattled (thought it was lean misfire) for first 1/2 a second then ran fine. Drove the last 5km to home - not enough power to hold 5th gear - but
    I was driving into a strong headwind. (If I'd known what the issue was I never would've even restarted it)

Well I was curious as to why - pulled plug - looked hot and very lean. Compression test showed 130psi, so that's good. So I jetted the carb, and hadn't adjusted valves yet, so I did that, they were out a little bit (exh. 008",intake .005") ran much better but thought I heard a little valve rattle......

Pulled the top end bolt to check for oil supply, oil came out, and I had noticed oil droplets on the rockers and tappets when setting valves. - seemed to be getting oil

Then it dawned on me to check filter - found the mistake, turned it around and reinstalled.

Runs like a top, no real noticeable top end noise now, no metal on the filter, plenty of power now, 15km road test at 100km/h - recheck and plug is nice and tan now..... Seems all good.

Do I have crazy luck and somehow escaped siezing my top end? Or am I driving a time bomb? ..... It literally runs great, if there's any top end noise at all it's not really noticeable. (I work on car engines all the time, I know a rattle when I hear one..... Still can't believe I made this mistake - so stupid)