Throttle loses power when fully open
Close

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Trail Woman

Thread: Throttle loses power when fully open

Throttle loses power when fully open

I have an 88 and when riding in higher gears the bike won’t go faster than 20 I think it’s the carb but if anyone knows any other possible causes or how to fix it

I'm no expert but sounds like when I had a pinched fuel line which makes me think you have a partially clogged carb. Maybe some fuel treatment run though it could clear it. Empty your tank and run a little bit of seafoam or comparable additive at higher percentage then normal and it might just run through and clear it.

You could also make sure your air filter is clean and you don't have any gasket leaks. And then there's your spark plug. Check color of burn and gap...test for spark. Could be that it's not burning hot enough.
    Last edited by Trail Woman; 09-07-2019 at 09:46 AM.
    MtnMan75 likes this.
    Hidden Content
    My T-Dub! Hidden Content
    Youtube Channel Hidden Content

1. Trail Woman's suggestions with the following possibility... something partially clogging the petcock. Unhook the fuel line to the carb and let it drain into a container and see if flow is different between ON and Reserve. (something to try is adding some hose to it and blowing back through it and maybe clearing an obstruction. If this works, drain the gas from the tank, remove it from the bike, add more and slosh it around and drain it again. (my 2013 I bought had a few things floating in the gas I had to get out initially, was a PITA) I would have saved time just removing the petcock instead of doing everything in my power to do it otherwise for fear of ruining the gasket without a spare on hand.