Engine let out a squeal. Piston Ring?
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hello everyone. I am new to this site. I have been borrowing my roomates TW200 for my girlfriend to ride and now I feel responsible to fix it. We've been hitting the desert trails here in az. It is a 93 with 824 miles on it and appeared to be running great. On our last attempt at a ride we got about 10 miles away from the house when the engine let out a squealing noise. I was able to start it and run it back to the house. It let out one more little squeal. It turns over, shifted through the gears, and didn't rattle. Does anyone have an educated guess as to the possible cause, and how much work I am looking at. I just rebuilt my snowmobile (1000cc two stroke) however I have never worked on a 4 stroke so any tips would help. I am a newbie at engine repair. Thanks in advance.

Could it be a jumped timing tensioner?

First things first, check the obvious. When most people get this 'death squeal' it is because they got the wrong oil filter. Have you changed the oil recently? Hold the bike upright and look in the sight glass. Is oil level normal? What color is it? <1000 miles is still sorta breaking in. Make sure you're following the recommended routine for that. Worst case scenario, a rebuild is far from impossible. These are dead simple engines. The service manuals can be downloaded on this website and do outline how to tear down the engine entirely. If you have adequate oil level, acceptable oil color, haven't touched anything on the bike outside of riding it, then it is tough to say what the issue is unfortunately. I'd pull the filter if I were you and look for significant metalli buildup. There will be SOME, but look for large amounts. If you are unsure, post a picture of the filter and we'd be happy to give you an opinion! Hopefully you can stop borrowing your roommates bike and join the obsession soon Welcome to the forum though!

Kyle
    Gone - 2006 TW200
    Gone - 2014 CB1100