High Idle - Hot Engine
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Just got my '06 back from the shop for a carb rebuild. It runs good but when I stop in neutral it revs really high, pops a wheelie when I hit first.

The engine seems pretty hot but I'm a total noob, how long does it normally need to sit before it cools enough to touch?

Could the high idle and overheating engine be related? If I sit in neutral for a minute or two it slows down. Thanks.

I think I'd take it back to the shop and tell them to fix it right. It's likely a kinked or pinched throttle cable.
    Only a fool would attempt it, and God help me, I am that fool!

Thanks, I'll check the cable.

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

Cable's fine...

Cable's fine, still revs high and then slows down. Could someone please offer some advice?

Sounds like it could be running too lean. Try adjusting the air/fuel mixture screw out some. The dealer may have set it to factory settings which tend to be lean.
    1st John 1:9
    If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

John 3:16
    For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

John 3:17
    For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.

Hidden Content <<<Click here. Hidden Content

Quote Originally Posted by Avi Kwame View Post
    Just got my '06 back from the shop for a carb rebuild. It runs good but when I stop in neutral it revs really high, pops a wheelie when I hit first.

The engine seems pretty hot but I'm a total noob, how long does it normally need to sit before it cools enough to touch?

Could the high idle and overheating engine be related? If I sit in neutral for a minute or two it slows down. Thanks.
    I hesitate to comment since I couldn't help you last time...but here goes...