Striking Oil
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Striking Oil

Hi guys,

Iv got a 2002 TW125, (I know, not a 200 but for Britain you can use L plates on it and not a 200) and having just bought it, I decided to give it a service. It had been sitting for a year, so any non willingness to start was just passed off as needing a service. Anyway,there I was removing the air filter cover, when about a half of a litre of oil spills out onto my feet. I naturally assumed, as I'm a newbie, that I'd done something wrong and had managed to strike oil somehow. I have read the owners manual, and it says the air filter needs some oil on it and soaked into it to work properly, but I wasn't expecting this. Anyway, I have replaced the filter (with what I thought was the right oil saturation) and am just wondering if its just some idiot who has put in too much oil into the filter years ago, or whether it's something more serious, and if it might cause any damage somewhere else. Or, that I'm an idiot and have gotten completely the wrong idea.

The crankcase breather hose might have been gushing oil for some reason. I'd be a bit wary and do an oil change with a proper new filter. Inspect the old oil as best you can for gas or metal shavings, and look at the filter as well.

Importantly, make sure the shop sells you the right oil filter, and (I'd imagine the 125 has this as well) use the bleed bolt on the motor once you've changed oil, and be on the lookout for your drain bolt to be stuck, just in case.

Reading up on the site will give you some insight into what to look for with these things, but it sounds like your motor was blowing oil for some reason. Either overfilled or a passage is clogged, which would be kinda bad. Make sure the bike is upright when you put oil in the motor or you'll overfill it waiting for it to show in the sight glass.