Oil Capacity Question?
Close
    
    
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Member Swamp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Michigan Territory
    Posts
    108
    OK, I know this is a lame question, so don't beat me up to bad!



    I changed my oil yesterday, following the procedure layed out here on the forum. Oil level is right at the top line in the viewing window! Started engine and loosened the little bolt to make sure oil is pumping up to the top of the head, no problem, everything is good!



    Now, with the engine running, I noticed that the oil level window basically showed no oil, as the one quart I put in was being pumped throught the engine. I don't have a manual, so I'm going to ask here.



    Is oil level checked with engine off, or running?
    Swamp

    2006 TW200

  2. #2
    Senior Member mekdad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    idaho
    Posts
    187
    Off.
    You never know what you can do until you have to undo something you have done.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Point37's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Southcoast MAsshole
    Posts
    2,661
    Quote Originally Posted by Swamp View Post
    OK, I know this is a lame question, so don't beat me up to bad!



    I changed my oil yesterday, following the procedure layed out here on the form. Oil level is right at the top line in the viewing window! Started engine and loosened the little bolt to make sure oil is pumping up to the top of the head, no problem, everything is good!



    Now, with the engine running, I noticed that the oil level window basically showed no oil, as the one quart I put in was being pumped throught the engine. I don't have a manual, so I'm going to ask here.



    Is oil level checked with engine off, or running?


    this is perfectly normal as the oil is being used elsewhere in the engine while running...oil level is checked with the engine off

  4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Senior Member Swamp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Michigan Territory
    Posts
    108
    That's what I figured, but just wanted to make sure! I do need to invest in a service manual for the TW!



    Thanks Guys!
    Swamp

    2006 TW200

  6. #5
    Senior Member TW-Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    5,670
    Quote Originally Posted by Swamp View Post
    That's what I figured, but just wanted to make sure! I do need to invest in a service manual for the TW!



    Thanks Guys!
    Copies are available here free of charge:



    https://tw200forum.com/index.php?/top...epair-manuals/

  7. #6
    Senior Member silverhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Central Iowa, USA
    Posts
    310
    Don't feel bad.. I had someone tell me in disbelief that my bike was 1000cc. I said, "What? No.. what are you talking about?" and they pointed at the 1000cc embossed numbering by the oil fill cap
    1993 TW200

  8. #7
    Senior Member Swamp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Michigan Territory
    Posts
    108
    Swamp

    2006 TW200

  9. #8
    Senior Member Swamp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Michigan Territory
    Posts
    108
    I downloaded the manuals Brian! That is awesome that these are available for free!



    Who do I thank for this?
    Swamp

    2006 TW200

  10. #9
    Senior Member srs713's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Smyrna, GA, USA
    Posts
    1,417
    I like using Marvel Mystery Oil in my engines.



    At 1000cc, that is one quart bottle of oil, then top off with about 1.8 oz of MMO.



    Just right!
    Stephen S.

    '07 TW200:

    15/50 sprockets, O-ring chain, D2Moto foot pegs

    tweaked carb (127.5 jet, 0.019 needle shim, idle screw @2.25),

    Rubbermaid "Action Packer" on homemade brackets

  11. #10
    Senior Member frog13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    SW, Ohio
    Posts
    2,518
    Quote Originally Posted by Swamp View Post
    OK, I know this is a lame question, so don't beat me up to bad!



    I changed my oil yesterday, following the procedure layed out here on the forum. Oil level is right at the top line in the viewing window! Started engine and loosened the little bolt to make sure oil is pumping up to the top of the head, no problem, everything is good!



    Now, with the engine running, I noticed that the oil level window basically showed no oil, as the one quart I put in was being pumped throught the engine. I don't have a manual, so I'm going to ask here.



    Is oil level checked with engine off, or running?




    Perfectly good question!.To answer the question,the engine is off.I know how you felt,looking in the sight glass and seeing NO OIL as the bike is running!.No issues your fine!.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Sponosred Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Oil Cooler capacity?
    By Grant in forum Technical Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-24-2013, 03:11 PM
  2. Mileage & Reserve Capacity
    By Mozart 2 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 06-10-2013, 09:08 AM
  3. Extra fuel capacity
    By DonBenito in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 01-15-2013, 07:18 PM
  4. oil cooler and engine oil capacity
    By AFISHALBIZ in forum Technical Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-22-2012, 09:08 PM
  5. Doubled My Tank Capacity
    By bend42 in forum Performance and Customization
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-26-2011, 10:42 PM

Search tags for this page

2003 yamaha tw200 oil capacity
,
2013 tw200 oil capacity
,

2014 tw200 oil capacity

,
oil capacity for 2013 yamaha tw 200
,

tw200 oil capacity

,
tw200 quarts oil
,

yamaha tw200 oil capacity

,
yamaha tw200 oil level check youtube
Click on a term to search for related topics.