More Carb Problems
Close

After going into the carb on my "new" 05 TW for the fourth time I thought I had it made. I'd, by then, put in a dealer-supplied kit, got all the parts in the right places, checked and adjusted the float level, reset the idle air mixture. It started about right, ran about right. Now that I'm able to ride it some distance I've got another carb-related issue.

After the engine is well warmed up when I engage the clutch and close the throttle the idle speed remains very very high. I've checked throttle cable slack and for anything that would keep the throttle from returning to the idle adjuster stop. I can crack the throttle and snap it back but the idle remains high. However, if I release the clutch, putting a slight load on the engine, then the idle drops back to and remains at a normal speed. I'm no expert, having owned the TW about three weeks now, but I'm wondering if something like the main jet needle is hanging up, or maybe the problem might be related to the diaphram. I don't know that either of these things are possible.

Any ideas?

Quote Originally Posted by Oldad View Post

Any ideas?
    ...a few, but can't promise they will solve your problem.

Try opening the pilot screw a half turn more and see if that makes a difference.

Check for air leaks around the rubber boot from the air box to the carb.

Spray WD40 around the connection while the engine is running, and see if the engine rpm increases.

Check to see if the small spring at the top of the main fuel needle is still in place.

Sometimes it will fall out during reassembly.

Check the plastic spacer on the fuel needle. It should remain at the top of the needle, and not easily slide or move.

Jb
    2018 Triumph Street Twin..............2016 CB500F
    2014 XT250 ..................................2008 H-D Softail Deluxe
    2008 SV 650..................................2007 DR 650..

Thanks for the tips. I'll check on these tonight.