Newbie Tech Question
Close

This is my first post and I hope you all can help.

I just purchased a 2005 TW200 with about 4,000 miles on it from a private party and already I am having some issues that I don't know how to resolve and I am not sure how to get them resolved. I am not a motorcycle mechanic although I was a bicycle mechanic for many years and have a small skillset that might help with simple issues.

I live about an hour away from the Yamaha dealer and just got my endorsement. Not comfortable riding in the city. I don't have a trailer so I would have to ride the bike to the dealer or take it to a local mechanic. Only problem is that the local mechanic works at the auto shop as a car mechanic. Not sure the extent of his motorcycle training, although I understand he is formally trained.

Either way, the brake light just shorted out and is on all the time. I am not sure how to find the source of the short.

The reason I need to get the bike in is because it is idling very high after it's warmed up. The bike came from 5,000 feet and I ride it at 9,000 feet so I am not sure if it needs to be rejetted or if it has carburetor issues that are far more extensive. Not sure how to determine what to do here and if I get it fixed by a third party, I want to go into the appointment with some knowledge so I don't get the short end of the stick.

The bike also seems really loud when I'm on the throttle.

Almost able to get the bike to 55, but that's about it.

I have an appointment to get the bike in tomorrow to the local guy, but I'm a little hesitant and of course would like to get the brake light fixed before I ride it there, or to the Yamaha dealer.

Thanks in advance for any advice you to can give me.

Have a great day and if I don't get a reply, I'll understand. I wish I could be out riding today!