Clutch Slipping? Oil leak from Right Crank Case Gasket
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Clutch Slipping? Oil leak from Right Crank Case Gasket

Ok, This is my first post and I have little mechanical experience but I have spent a lot of time on the forum researching my issue. So Here it goes

1999 TW with 1600 miles
    2nd owner
    The bike had 275 miles on it when I bought it last year. The guy literally just parked it one day, bought a Harley and never rode it again. It sat for about 13 years and was never ridden.

I changed the plug, put carb cleaner and rode it on the road and some local trails last summer. Seemed to run rough but got me where I wanted to go.

This year, had the carb cleaned, new fuel filter, and chain adjusted. My issue now is that the Clutch seems to slip really bad until the bike warms up. I have to use WOT in order to get it to move even

a little. Once the bike is warmed up it will get going but still seems to slip once I come to a stop and have to take off again. Gears 1-3 seem to slip the worst and then 5th gear surges back and forth.

I am getting horrible gas mileage, and now I have an oil leak coming from the right crank case gasket. (I assume from the WOT just to get it moving)

My question is should I replace the clutch with only 1500 miles or is it something else. The clutch spring is in the proper position. The oil was just changed with 10w-40 synthetic motorcycle oil and I

used the same weight last year just a different brand. Clutch cable was adjusted during Carb Cleaning. Any help you guys can offer would be great. This is a great forum.

Just curious what WOT means.

It's when you pin it.
    "keep it punched"

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

rbm
    Quote Originally Posted by Glaive View Post
    Just curious what WOT means.
    Wide Open Throttle