Question on high altitude jetting/operations
Close

Question on high altitude jetting/operations

I'll be taking my "new" 2000 TW out to the San Juans riding in a couple of weeks along with my son riding an overhauled TTR125. The bike has the stock pre-2001 TW carb, with all the stock jets. I've heard others say they rode the stock jets up to 9000 feet, but we'll be no lower than 6000 and as high as 13,000 feet. I'm not that heavy, so I think the TW will still have the oomph to get me there and back. What I'd like to know from those who know the older carb, is what I should prepare to modify once we arrive at our 6000 foot base camp. Unlike the TTR, Yamaha has no service manual suggestion for high altitude TW modifications. The bike is usually a commuter at 1000 foot elevation, so whatever mods would need to be reversible. I do work with engines a lot, but I have NO experience with the TW save a recent carb cleaning. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I've perused many past threads here, but still don't feel comfortable that I've got a solution for a pre-2001 carb. Any part numbers or sources would be appreciated. Thanks!

Did you see this post?
    My handle is B-dub, I ride a T-dub, and drive a V-dub.

Quote Originally Posted by B-dub View Post
    Did you see this post?
    Yes, I read that earlier. Although the airbox cover mod should work, the 2001 and newer TW's have a different carb than my bike has, so the results may not be the same. I'm hoping for a mod, perhaps with jetting (such as the size and part number of the jet) will be brought forward by someone who has done the deed and found it worked. Thanks!

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements