My First Off-Road..TW-Cherry Popped...Foothills ORV
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: My First Off-Road..TW-Cherry Popped...Foothills ORV

My First Off-Road..TW-Cherry Popped...Foothills ORV

First time ever taking a motorcycle on any kind of offroad. Headed to nearby Foothills ORV in Port Angeles. Since I'm new to this whole thing, i stayed on the main gravel road, but saw numerous single trails along the way. I was by myself so I didn't get crazy and don't think i ever went over 25mph. I was really trying to learn the whole "driving on gravel" thing mostly. Those down hill turns are slightly nerve racking. I stayed on the rear brake and kept front brake to a bare minimum on the down hill. Pretty much let the bike do it's thing otherwise, trying to have some faith in the tires and letting them track. Any tips anyone can provide to someone new like me when it comes to trails and roads will be much appreciated.

The pic overlooks Port Angeles.

Foothills_ORV_092014.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by nunya View Post
    I was by myself so I didn't get crazy and don't think i ever went over 25mph.
    Perfect.

There are some very good videos and books available on trail riding.
    Fred likes this.

Yes to Utube videos and other how-to sources, however most will deal with bikes different than the TW. You are lighter and shorter than an Adventure Tourer so can do more rough terrain yet heavier and less powerfull than conventional MX based trail bike so will never wheelie through any creek crossings.
    Sounds like you are starting out right though. Gravel roads are squirrely places to learn so if you get comfortable on them then that is an accomplishment. Try more dirt roads and trails too, first and second gear speeds.
    What tripped me up learning was dealing with ruts, roots and branches that would be encountered at oblique angles. A couple of wipe-outs taught me to finish braking early and hit obstacle at right angle if possible.