Technical Trail Riding
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Gentlemen,

The text book definition of meditation is to concentrate on one thing and to force all other thoughts out of your mind. After even a short duration in a state of meditation one has a feeling of contentment for hours afterward. Few things will more successfully concentrate your focus on one thing than the reality of immediate, painful consequences if you blow it. See, feel, focus, react, absorb, look ahead, and concentrate.

6 months ago I was ready to give up desert riding. My son (and riding partner) Charley is going off to Texas A&M in August and the prospect of my aging 55 year old body hitting the rocky desert floor here in Arizona at 50+ MPH gave me pause even though I have been riding off road since I was 12 years old. The type of technical trail riding that I enjoyed in my youth on a Honda SL100 was very difficult on my modern dirt bikes with their sky high seat height and high center of gravity. High output, peaky, water cooled engines provide about the same amount of delicate throttle control as a chain saw and make low speed maneuvering in tight spaces a clutch slipping nightmare. Time to hang it up and sell my dirt bikes as it is just not fun anymore.

Then two things saved my off road riding life. 1. I came across the TW and......2. I met XDAC and his fellow AZ TW riding friends.