Idaho City
Close

Thread: Idaho City

I have gone riding on trails up by Idaho City twice in the last week. had a lot of fun except when my front tire slid out from underneath me. I have the stock front tire mounted and it seems that it doesn't get traction on either hard packed sandy trails or anything with a little loose top on it. I am hesitant to lean the bike into the corners due to this, I find myself sitting upright, slowing way down and turning the wheel to try and make a corner, it's irritating. I wonder if I mounted a more aggressive knobby front tire if it would help me? who knows? Thanks.

I'm no expert, but will say that the front tire is a bad joke when it comes to off-pavement traction. Here is a link for a little more research until more ideas are offered up. Gerry

https://tw200forum.com/index.php?/topic/3831-front-tire-choices/page__p__35713__hl__sr244__fromsearch__1#entry3571 3
    Take care my Friend.........

My "fear-factor" went down appreciably when I got rid of my stock front tire and put on a Kenda 270. A -much- better option for the loose stuff.

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

You actually saw how well the Kenda K760-110/100x18 Trak Master stuck in the corners when we were out to Bender Creek. Big Twin ordered mine in for me and did the install. The 270 tread looks more like what would work at the Walmart Parking lot.

Glad to hear that the dealer got Larry's bike sorted out.

We had a little more of a workout Thursday on the single tracks. 27 miles and Tylenol is my friend.

Holler when you guys are going for another adventure. Being retired, I always have time for just such adventures.

Happy Trails All

Ron in Boise.

Dan,