is riding on a paved road while snow is falling "adventure riding"?
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    so I started riding my tw to work in any conditions, the roads i use are very well plowed & traveled and I've only got 4 miles so I haven't had problems. I can handle plain wet roads.

yesterday went for a ride at about 2pm, been snowing moderately all day. went off the beaten path & tried to cut through a park (a road going through the park). the road had that packed white snow, you know it's not ice but it's slippery & my tires weren't biting into it at all, I was just sitting on top of it. took a very very very very gentle turn & boom front tire went right out & I kind of jumped off the bike. it happened very fast. not sure what i could have done except maybe sit waaaay up front over the front tire & give it some gas & hope for the best but i was too slow for all of that. all is well, I was only going about 20 and no one was behind me. hip is a little sore & i learned that in snowy conditions im sticking to my well traveled & plowed roads!
    2012 TW200, 1993 KLR650, 1992 GSX750F

ouch...glad you're ok...def better off with studded tires or chains on that stuff or just on softer trails...done plenty of mountain biking in the snow so i know how it feels to fall...my TW sits in the garage in the winter...if there were places to trail ride around here that may be a different story

Sounds like an adventure to me, glad you didn't get bashed up too bad.
    Only a fool would attempt it, and God help me, I am that fool!

4. Remove Advertisements
    TW200Forum.com
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by jckosnow View Post
    the road had that packed white snow, you know it's not ice but it's slippery & my tires weren't biting into it at all